Georgia passed the Living Infants and Fairness Equality (LIFE) Act and now considers a fetus a legal dependent as long as it has a heartbeat.
As of July 20, 2022, a resident of Georgia may receive $3,000 for claiming their unborn baby as a dependent and don’t necessarily have to prove qualification. Critics warn the state will dish out cash even if the pregnancy doesn’t make it to full term, as natural miscarriage counts for 10-20% of pregnancies.
And given how high the percentage of pregnancies that result in natural miscarriages, the treasury is going to be handing out a lot of cash for pregnancies that would never come to term. (That might be good public health policy though it may be a lot more money than anticipated.)
— Anthony Michael Kreis (@AnthonyMKreis) August 1, 2022
The official release stated:
“As such, on individual income tax returns filed for Tax Year 2022 where, at any time on or after July 20, 2022, and through December 31, 2022, a taxpayer has an unborn child (or children) with a detectable human heartbeat (which may occur as early as six weeks’ gestation), the taxpayer may claim a dependent personal exemption as provided for under O.C.G.A § 48-7-26(a) and (b)(3) in the amount of $3,000.00 for each unborn child.”
The claim must be backed by medical records or supporting documentation, but only if requested by the Georgia Department of Revenue.
- Senior Living Facility Rent Suddenly Increases by $1,000 per Month - August 15, 2022
- CPS Worker Fired for Telling 14-Year-Old Girl to Prostitute - August 15, 2022
- NYC Teachers Accused of Fake Vax Cards Get Their Jobs Back - August 15, 2022